Wardens, Vestry and Officers

The Senior Warden: Nora Howell

The Senior Warden is elected by the parish membership and is the “chief lay officer” of St. Mark’s. The Senior Warden works in partnership with the Rector to give overall leadership to the parish.

The Junior Warden: Kenn Allen

The Junior Warden is elected by the parish membership and is responsible for management and upkeep of our buildings and grounds. The Junior Warden is assisted by other parishioners – including the Manciple, the Fabric Committee and the Garden Committee – and St. Mark’s maintenance contractor.

The Vestry

The Vestry is the governing board of the parish. It meets monthly and is presided over by the Rector. Voting members include the Senior and Junior Wardens and nine Members of the Vestry elected by the parish membership. Parish officers participate actively in the work of the Vestry but do not vote. Members of the Vestry also serve as liaisons to the Pillars and various priority committees and activities, as needed. Minutes of all Vestry meetings are posted on the website and can be found here.

Current Vestry Members

Class of 2018: Jenifer Holland, Doug Jackson,  Karen Wiedemann
Class of 2019: Stephanie Deutsch, Thia Hamilton, Beth Mahood
Class of 2020: Jim Brooks, Tracy Councill, Alix Periera


Register: Mary Cooper
Treasurer:  Martha Huizenga
Manciple: Michael Knipe
Legal Counsel: Michael Knipe
Risk Manager:  George Meng

Vestry and Officer Assignments to Key Committees

Endowment Board:  Nora Howell (Senior Warden and ex officio member), Kenn Allen (Junior Warden and ex officio member), Martha Huizenga (Parish Treasurer and ex officio member)
Finance Committee:  Martha Huizenga (Chair), Beth Mahood
Membership:  Stephanie Deutsch, Karen Wiedemann, Jenifer Holland
Stewardship/Annual Canvass/Capital Campaign/Fund Raising:  Nora Howell, Kenn Allen, Tracy Councill
Youth and Family Ministries:  Beth Mahood

Participation in the Episcopal Diocese of Washington

St. Mark’s is a part of the Episcopal Diocese of Washington and the Episcopal Church of the US.  St. Mark’s sends three delegates to the annual diocesan convention, and members of the parish serve in a variety of other roles within the diocese.

Parish Delegates to Diocesan Convention:  Cecilia Monahan, Michael Knipe
Member of Diocesan Council: Maureen Shea
Member of the Diocesan Finance Committee: Kenn Allen
Strategic Financial Resources Commission: Michele Morgan, Kenn Allen

Standing Committees and Teams


The Membership Committee is charged with providing a welcoming spirit in our community so that current and new members, newcomers and visitors experience radical hospitality.
Conveners: Katherine Anderson


The Endowment Board manages monies given to the church by parishioners for specific purposes.
Co-Chairs: Kathryn Powers and Cecilia Monahan

The Finance Committee drafts the parish budget, monitors income and expenditures through the year, conducts a financial needs analysis in coordination with clergy, staff and parish leaders, and makes recommendations to the vestry on financial matters.
Chair: Martha Huizenga, Treasurer; John Edwards, Assistant Treasurer

The Stewardship Committee develops, implements, administers, monitors, refines and revises a year-round program for stewardship emphasizing our promise and commitment to “give.” There are two guiding principles for the committee: (a) Stewardship is a year-round activity with a continual year-round focus; and (b) Stewardship is an act of joy that should be woven into the fabric of our parish life, supporting our present mission and strengthening our future.
2017 Chair: Rob Hall

The Money Counters count and deposit the Sunday collections.  Appointment requires Vestry approval.
Chair: Susan Sedgewick

Junior Warden’s Committees

The Fabric Committee assists the Junior Warden with his/her work managing the parish buildings and grounds.
Chair: Kenn Allen

Historic Preservation Committee works with the Junior Warden on matters related to the preservation of the historic nave (1888-1894)
Chair: Kenn Allen

Columbaria We have two: one is located in the chancel and the other in the Chapel of the Nazarene (space available).
Coordinator: Penny Hansen

Archives and Parish History Committee is responsible for managing the parish archives and retaining its records and for celebrating the history of the parish. Coordinators: Mary Cooper, Kenn Allen, Doris Muller-Burton, Cecilia Monahan

Two Committees Provide Support for Leaders

Advisory Committees offer support for our clergy, program staff, and wardens.
Convener:  Betsy Athey

Elders are former Wardens and Co-Directors of Christian Education.  They meet at the call of the Rector and/or Senior Warden to offer counsel on the life and labors of the parish.
Co-Conveners: Betsy Athey, Bruce Sherman